lostnchina

…because not all of us have our Peking ducks in a row

Lost in Translation – Why I’m Not an Interpreter

The anniversary of the post that started this whole blog…

lostnchina

My Mother often asks me why I don’t step up and help foreigners translate, as they stammer and gulp their way through the simplest things, like asking where the bathroom is, how to get to the bus station, what happened to their cell phone, which was on the table in front of them at the restaurant only moments ago, and so on.

Now, don’t get me wrong.  My first instinct is to help people in need, and not just to stand by and watch them helplessly flail about, then capture the meaty bits on a blog for your reading pleasure.  But I’ve decided that foreigners usually only require extensive interpretation, when things aren’t going so smoothly.  In such cases, interpreting requires a great deal of finesse and may become tricky.

                                

VIVE LA FRANCE!

The best place for tempers to boil is waiting in line for something that doesn’t…

View original post 1,158 more words

4 comments on “Lost in Translation – Why I’m Not an Interpreter

  1. emi
    September 19, 2013

    great site!!!

    Like

  2. WSW
    September 16, 2013

    This also explains, more or less, why I got out of the French business all those years ago.

    Like

    • lostnchina
      September 16, 2013

      Wendie, I hate to generalize about a certain race of people, but out of all the clients I’ve dealt with the French have been consistently rude and demeaning…though I have to say Americans might be close behind. However, the Chinese still probably hold the gold medal in being the most racist against the Chinese race.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 15, 2013 by in China, Humor and tagged , , , , .
